Exploring colors through interactive children's picture books!

What I am Learning from Homeschooling My Kids, Part 1

We have spent the last 3 years being slightly annoyed at my middle son, who always wants to be a part of everything anybody ever does!!! Recently I started having some one-on-one time with him, officially starting to learn letters. He often asked, “where’s sissy? What is she doing?”… Until I sat close to him and colored WITH him. If I am WITH him, he is happy.

He is a group learner. The rest of us will happily work on projects independently (which is why it took my so long to figure him out!). He is happy when he is a part of the group. So my husband and I sat down and regrouped–created a plan to do some group projects related to our history lessons. Here is a picture of our first group project, creating the world. He loved it.

But as you can see from my daughter’s face, she did not love it. Although we can’t please everyone all the time, we’ve made a slot for group projects in the midst of lots of self-teaching and independent learning. Over these next few weeks, I hope to build a habit and pattern that will include everyone’s learning strengths.

And what is most important is that I have learned that my son is a group learner…and when I make room for him to be part of the group, Peace follows. That’s our aim, peace in our home school!

Join the fun and comment!

Tag Cloud

